Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Indigenous Politics Radio

INDIGENOUS POLITICS: FROM NATIVE NEW ENGLAND AND BEYOND
Radio Program on WESU, Middletown,
4-5 pm EDT (3-4pm CST/1-2pm PST/10-11am HST)
Listen Online While the Show Airs: www.wesufm.org

On Tuesday, September 8, 2009, join your host, J. Kehaulani Kauanui for an episode featuring Dr. Lisa Brooks (Abenaki) on the program to discuss her new book, The Common Pot: The Recovery of Native Space in the Northeast. In The Common Pot, Brooks focuses on the role of writing as a tool of social reconstruction and land reclamation. She documents and analyzes the ways in which Native leaders-including Samson Occom, Joseph Brant, Hendrick Aupaumut, and William Apess-adopted writing as a tool to assert their rights and reclaim land. Brooks is an Assistant Professor of History and Literature and of Folklore and Mythology at Harvard University, where she teaches courses in Native American literature, with an emphasis on historical, political, and geographic contexts. She also serves on the Faculty Advisory Board of the Harvard University Native American Program (HUNAP). She co-authored the collaborative volume, Reasoning Together: The Native Critics Collective (2008). She serves on the Editorial Board of Studies in American Indian Literatures, the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association (NAISA) Council, and on the Advisory Board of Gedakina, a non-profit organization focused on indigenous cultural revitalization, educational outreach, and community wellness in northern New England.
~~~This show is syndicated on select Pacifica-affiliate stations: WNJR, in Washington, PA, WETX-LP, "The independent voice of Appalachia," which broadcasts throughout the Tri-Cities region of East Tennessee, southwest Virginia, and northwest North Carolina; WBCR-lp in Great Barrington, MA; WPKN in Bridgeport, CT and Montauk, NY; and WORT in Madison, WI
~~~Past programs of "Indigenous Politics" are now archived online: www.indigenouspolitics.com
~~~The show's producer and host, Dr. J. Kehaulani Kauanui is an associate professor of American Studies and Anthropology at Wesleyan University. She is the author of Hawaiian Blood: Colonialism and the Politics of Sovereignty and Indigeneity (Duke University Press, 2008). For more information, see: http://jkauanui.faculty.wesleyan.edu/

No comments:

Censored News PayPal



Censored News depends on reader donations for live coverage. brendanorrell@gmail.com